Five weeks, two days

June 20, 2009

I am loving motherhood.

DSCN2979

Maggie is precious, and I feel so blessed to be her mother. I love that my voice is one she strains to hear – that my body is giving her the sustenance she needs to develop those delicious chub rolls – that my chest is her “safe place,” where she can snuggle down and feel safe and secure. I love, too, that I have given Matt this most amazing, marvelous person as a daughter.

DSCN2991

She’s changing and growing every day. When she looks at me now, her eyes really register my presence. She smiles, and it’s not just because she has gas! When she nurses, she sometimes reaches out and touches my face. She’s getting better every day at holding up her head – which is good because she tends to get rather angry when her neck muscles grow tired and she thunks her head on my collarbone. πŸ™‚

I am so lucky. I am SO lucky.

– MAMA!

5 Responses to “Five weeks, two days”

  1. MKD Says:

    isn’t it grand! best thing EVER. ever.

  2. camelliasinensis Says:

    I’m appreciating your appreciation. Reading this makes me so happy. I’m smiling ear to ear. And Maggie is SO lucky to have you and Matt as her parents! πŸ˜€

  3. Phil Says:

    I imagine Matt is trying to muffle Maggie’s complaints, “come on, dad, don’t you at least have a decent shirt you can put on for the picture?”

  4. Matt Says:

    Her actual complaint was
    aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa

  5. Lucy Says:

    Matt, you got it wrong. It was
    AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
    AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA
    AAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!


Leave a Reply

