2 weeks

May 28, 2009

I’ve been meaning to write something here for several days now, and it just ain’t happening. Other things keep taking priority — you know, things like eating, feeding Maggie, showering, etc. But! Here are some pikturs of my lovely little lady:

DSCN2896

DSCN2901
She makes this face after every feeding. I think it is super cute.

DSCN2927
She’s put on weight, and is now an even 8 pounds! Love the chub rolls!

DSCN2930
FEETS!

DSCN2938

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I’ve had some time to process the whole experience of delivering Maggie now, and I’m really starting to realize just how bad the outcome could have been — and be rather frightened in retrospect, even though we’re all totally fine now. I was more or less unconscious during the worst of it – when I started hemorrhaging and the midwife had to go in and yank my placenta out – so I don’t have the awful visuals that Matt does. But I’ve realized now that what happened could have ended very, very badly had I delivered at home, as I wanted to. I could have bled out and died before we were able to get to a hospital; even with the emergency treatment I received, I still lost four times as much blood as I should have. As rare as it is these days for fatal complications to occur in childbirth, they *do* happen, and I’m very, very thankful that I was where I could get immediate care.

Mama

4 Responses to “2 weeks”

  1. CameliaSinensis Says:

    God, she is beautiful. I am so glad you are doing fine, Lucy. We love you so much.

  2. Phil Says:

    Yep – makes you grateful for dr’s and nurses who knew what they were doing and took care of everyone.

  3. thebigJC Says:

    I agree with Mr. Phil. Of course I am bias, but when MrsbigJC worked at the big hospital they had alot of high risk births (they had a nicu within steps of the birth floor) and they always seemed on top of their stuff… specially when the missus was cracking the whip (though I am sure she was just as fun to work for when she was doing the hammer dance). I am extremely confident in our doctor and the nursing staff that we will have… I have worries, but not because of the lack of confidence in them.

    I am very happy that she is happy and healthy, You guys will have your hands full when she grows up!

    The last pic is adorable

  4. artemisia Says:

    if you dont have time to post regularly, just feed us loooots of pictures!!!

    love
    Artemisia


Leave a Reply

