Ugh

May 22, 2009

Horrid day. Maggie has had several episodes today of screaming bloody murder for no apparent reason, but in a way that suggests she’s in pain. One episode happened while we were at the pediatrician’s office, and he said he thought it could be the beginnings of a reflux problem, based on how she was arching her back and twisting her head. This makes me VERY depressed – my sister has struggled with her son’s reflux problems for five months now, and it’s only now getting better. In the meantime, she’s had a baby who screams almost nonstop.

You do everything you possibly can to make things better, but sometimes nothing works and your baby screams. It’s a horrible, horrible thing.

10 Responses to “Ugh”

  1. MKD Says:

    word to the mofo.

    reflux is what is keeping leo in the nicu. boo to reflux!


  2. I seriously am trembling and almost crying right now. It’s horrible, horrible, horrible.

  3. MKD Says:

    they can give her zantac…no?


  4. Yes, they can, but I don’t think they want to rush into prescribing things when a definite diagnosis hasn’t been made. I’m also going to try monitoring what I eat before she has these episodes, to see if there’s anything that I’m eating that could be upsetting her tum.

  5. Phil Says:

    Hate that for you – stinks when there’s nothing you can do to calm her (at least it seems that way sometimes).

    Hang in there – she is WAY tougher than you, and you’ll both get through it.

  6. Nepenthe Says:

    Happiest Baby in the World – book talks about that exact thing and why it happens….I don’t know if it would help but I got the book on the recommendation of a friend and I’m hoping it will help when my baby gets into one of those moods (someday in the dog days of August).

    I’m glad you’re still posting – I keep up on your blog like it’s a view into my future.

  7. sheburtsy Says:

    how is she doing now? same?

  8. sheburtsy Says:

    how are you doing too?

  9. Matt Says:

    She’s better. Fussy about 15% of the time or so, and showing improvement. She still needs to learn the difference between “hungry”, “not hungry”, and “full”, each of which are different concepts to her belly.

  10. babybird Says:

    My sister had a similar problem with her first child and a friend of mine who’d had a similar problem said “lose the cheese.” It worked. Something about eating cheese was bugging their babies’ systems. You might give it a try if it persists.
    Congrats by the way!


Leave a Reply

