Something, maybe? Please let it be something.

May 9, 2009

Soooo…. I lost part of my mucus plug this morning. This makes me OMG OBSCENELY HAPPY because at my appt. on Tuesday, my cervix was completely closed up and tight as a drum, so this means that I’ve started to dilate and/or efface since then! I know that losing the plug doesn’t mean that labor is imminent (could be a matter of hours or a couple of weeks!) but it’s the first sign I’ve had that this baby might actually be close to making her appearance, and I am THRILLED.

I’ve also been having irregular cramping type contractions since yesterday (VERY irregular), but they seem to be happening more frequently.

Although this is completely unscientific, I also note that Mike Jones is acting — odd. That’s really the only way I can think to describe it. He tried to burrow INTO my stomach this morning, and when that failed, he kept pawing my hand. Grasping at straws, perhaps, but I tend to trust his doggie intuition – after all, he was one of the very first to know I was pregnant. đŸ™‚

I had a little talk with Biskit this morning after I lost my plug, to let her know that it was okay for her to come out now and meet the world; that there are a million loving hands waiting to hold her; that even though her little home for the last 9-ish months has been warm and snug, there’s an amazing and brilliant world out here that will be even MORE wonderful than her current home.

Last – I just have a feeling that something is happening. Again — unscientific, but it’s enough to get me off my butt and hustling to pack the hospital bag.

Fingers crossed!

3 Responses to “Something, maybe? Please let it be something.”

  1. sheburtsy Says:

    eeeeeeee! exciting!

  2. Phil Says:

    Mike Jones is a board certified canine ob/gyn. He’s not just a sargent, he’s a doctor! He knows what’s up.


  3. Phil: He’s also a psychic and a trained doula. Really, he’s a very useful furfriend to have around.


Leave a Reply

