32 and a half weeks

April 13, 2009

I’m rather suddenly and unexpectedly finding pregnancy to be a joy (a welcome change!).

For sure, I’m still plenty uncomfortable with my various pregnancy-related afflictions, but something about reaching the latter stages of this pregnancy has given me a new perspective. Matt and I are down to the last few weeks as being a family of two, and this time is golden. We will never be “just the two of us” ever again – even after Biskit grows up and leaves the nest. I want to savor every moment that we have left before we are hit with Hurricane Baby, and our world changes forever.

32-week-scan

Biskit’s 32 week scan. I can’t wait to NOM on that little chubby neck!

I have always loved feeling her move, but her wiggles and bumps put me in a downright blissful state these days. The ultrasound tech confirmed for me last week that Biskit is lying exactly as I thought she was – head down, back facing my right side – bum on the right side of my ribcage, knees to the middle of my chest, and feets tickling my sternum. I love to lay on my back and cup her bum with one hand and her knees with the other and give her a little cuddle (or, if I’m listening to music, to drum out the rhythm on her little butt). I could pass hours every day doing nothing but lying in bed, feeling her knees and legs and elbows slide around inside of me.

32-week-scan-2
I love this picture – she looks like she’s making a “fart face,” all pursed lips and crinkled nose!

Yesterday, Matt painted her room a sunny yellow, shampooed the carpet, and organized all of her things. All of a sudden, the room is REALLY hers, and it is a peaceful, warm and welcoming place.

Ohhhh, my little Biskit. We are almost ready for you!

4 Responses to “32 and a half weeks”

  1. Matt Says:

    Er, and that’s the cord, not a snot bubble, right in front of her nose 🙂

    I wasn’t looking forward to painting that room but now I’m awfully glad that we did. Everything in there is now fresh and clean and pleasant. So when one or the other of us is stuck in there with a screaming baby, a soothing lemon yellow might be just the thing that prevents us from going bananas and committing babycide.


  2. I prefer to think of it as a snot bubble, because it’s funny. 🙂

  3. Matt Says:

    I should stop writing such flippant answers. Biscuit’s not going to get my sense of humor for probably ten years.

  4. Lucy Says:

    Indeed. Then will come her teenagerhood, during which she’ll use your flippant answers to accuse you of having “NEVER LOVED HER!!!!”


Leave a Reply

