I want to marry my physical therapist

March 25, 2009

And if I weren’t already married to my awesome husband, I’d marry him all over again, too. πŸ™‚

I went to my amazing, WONDERFUL physical therapist this morning to get help with the horrid pelvic pain I’ve been having. Matt, bless his heart, came with me, in the hopes that he could learn some techniques from her to help me out at home.

When I walked in her door, I was limping and swaying from side to side like a drunken sailor. Within a few minutes, she had identified a large part of my problem – that my pelvis had gotten completely out of whack and my sacrum was misaligned. With just a bit of massage and stretching, my pelvis was realigned and my pain released. She taught Matt how do to the massages and movements (similar to some of the stuff we’ve learned in Lamaze, actually), and together, they worked my pain away.

When I finally stood up and walked around, I burst into tears of relief. Oh my God, I could WALK again! Like a NORMAL PERSON! The pain was a fraction of what it had been before, and I was able to move in ways that I haven’t moved in months. Even though I knew my PT was amazing, I could NOT believe the amount of improvement in such a short time.

When Matt and I walked out of the office (me with a gigantic smile on my face – ahhhh, relief!!), I could feel the tension and pain leach out of my body. And for the first time in a couple of months, I felt light of spirit and even of body. What a difference it makes to not be in pain! The black cloud over my head lifted, and I was filled with hope — that I will be able to truly enjoy these last few weeks of my pregnancy with our Biskit, without suffering, without pain, and with joy in my heart.

PS – Edited at 2:40 p.m. to add – WHOA BABY!!!! Biskit just dropped like a load of rocks! I bent over to do something and felt her slither waaaaay down into my pelvis. It felt SO wild and weird. I guess the end really is in sight!

8 Responses to “I want to marry my physical therapist”

  1. ChiaLynn Says:

    Oh, good news! Good news, good news!

  2. sheburtsy Says:

    yay! Yay for the pt!


  3. No kidding! πŸ˜€

  4. asianpixie Says:

    Now you’ll pee more than ever before! She is learning from our daughter who treats MKD’s bladder like a squeeze toy.


  5. Well, not exactly. I HAVE to pee more, but when I try to go, almost nothing comes out (and yes, that’s WITH the leaning forward/back and lifting your tum trick!). πŸ™‚

  6. Matt Says:

    She is pinching off the bladder every time you go to pee, because she has a good sense of humor.

  7. MKD Says:

    I’m soooooo glad you feel better!

    Your baby sounds like Matt.


  8. (Snort)

    Yep. I have a feeling I am spawning a mini-Matt. πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

