25 Weeks

February 19, 2009

25-weeks-2

25-weeks

This week, Biskit weighs about a pound and a half, and is approximately 14″ long from head to heel. I was never really worried about going into early labor, but I did breathe a little sigh of relief a few days ago — I’ve now passed the point where Biskit could survive if she was born early. (Not that I’m giving you any ideas, Missy – you need to stay put!)

This week also marks the first time EVER that Matt voluntarily turned on an episode of A Baby Story and watched it with me. Funnily enough, before we watched the episode, Matt had remarked, “You really can’t get too much bigger, can you honey?” And then we watched the show and he got an eyeful of a woman in all her 40 week glory. I think I heard him mumble to himself, “Holy fuck – she IS going to get bigger.”

My nesting instinct remains turned to eleven, but now even Matt is starting to get into it. His nesting takes the shape of wanting to fix our slanting porch (which he DID, thanks to a two-ton jack and lots of concrete slabs! My HERO!), and wanting to do a major overhaul of our lawn. Mikey has turned our yard into a knee-deep mud racetrack, and Matt has plans to fence off areas of the lawn, re-seed, dig out the yucky bushes in front of our porch, rip out all the scraggly plants along the front lawn, and plant vegetables. Frankly, he’s kind of on his own there – by the time it’s warm enough to do all this stuff, I will undoubtedly be too big to get down on my knees in the dirt.

In other news, I’m pretty sure we have a name for Biskit now. I’m dying to say it, but I will refrain on the chance that we change our minds. I don’t think we will, though. Frankly, it was right in front of us all along. I’ll give you a hint – Biskit will be named in honor of four generations of women in my family and Matt’s.

So! Week 25! Two more weeks until my third trimester starts (ack!). I cannot believe how time is managing to fly and drag simultaneously.

MAMA!

11 Responses to “25 Weeks”

  1. Matt Says:

    I was telling myself it was an episode of Doctor Who about vicious space aliens that nest inside of human abdomens.


  2. Frankly, that’s not that far off the truth.

  3. Matt Says:

    Okay, I can’t hold it back anymore – I have to post the name!!!!!!!

    We’re naming her Philemon!


  4. HAHAHAHHA!

    DAMMIT, Matt!

  5. Rebecca Says:

    excellent! Bozellina Bootileepoops it is! I mean Philemon…that really is lovely, so what does that make her knickname?

    Philly?

    Money?

    Lemon?

  6. Matt Says:

    I think it would be Phlipper.

  7. Matt Says:

    Phlegm?


  8. Well, my grandmother’s nickname was Phlipper, so I think we may have to go with that.

  9. MKD Says:

    this is so embarassing but we are naming our daughter the SAME thing. small world.

  10. Rebecca Says:

    phlipper is cute!

  11. asianpixie Says:

    I feel like you may have already mentioned it before and now I can’t remember it…oh well, will know soon enough!

    If 4 people in our lives got together, they would know the first and middle names of our babies 🙂


Leave a Reply

