Nesting, Part 2

February 9, 2009

Yesterday, I did the following:

– Took books back to library
– Bought WashPost solely for the purpose of clipping coupons
– Read circulars, clipped coupons, planned GROCERY STORE ATTACK (which involved three separate stores)
– Bought diapers on wicked sale
– Ran two loads of dishes, unloaded dishwasher (twice)
– Cleaned kitchen
– Cooked healthy lunch from scratch
– Did seven loads of laundry, including our comforter, all towels in the house, sheets, and any rug that was launderable
– Took dog to dog park

And at the end of the day, when my ass was dragging SO BAD that I fell asleep on an unmade bed, I still felt guilty because I hadn’t accomplished enough. So, today, I am staying home — partly out of exhaustion, but mostly so I can do all the cleaning that I didn’t get to do yesterday.

I just finished scrubbing my kitchen and dining room floors on my hands and knees (because the mop wasn’t GOOD ENOUGH). And this was after I vacuumed all the carpets in the house, polished our dining room table with lemon oil, cleaned up from breakfast, swept, straightened up the bedroom and dining room, and scrubbed my white tennis shoes by hand because they’d gotten a little bit dirty.

Apparently, my cleaning compulsion will only get worse! From parenting weekly.com:

“Around the fifth month of pregnancy, the “nesting” instinct can set in. This is an uncontrollable urge to clean one’s house brought on by a desire to prepare a nest for the new baby, to tie up loose ends of old projects and to organize your world.

Nesting brings about some unique and seemingly irrational behaviors in pregnant women and all of them experience it differently. Women have reported throwing away perfectly good sheets and towels because they felt the strong need to have “brand new, clean” sheets and towels in their home. They have also reported doing things like taking apart the knobs on kitchen cupboards, just so they could disinfect the screws attached to the knobs. Women have discussed taking on cleaning their entire house, armed with a toothbrush. There seems to be no end to the lengths a nesting mother will go to prepare for her upcoming arrival.

This unusual burst of energy is responsible for women ironing anything in the house that couldn’t out run them. Being preoccupied with ant killing, squishing them one at a time for weeks on end. Packing and unpacking the labor bag 50 times. Cleaning the kitchen cupboards and organizing everything by size to the point that you make sure the silverware patterns match when it’s stacked in the cutlery drawer. Sorting the baby’s clothes over and over again is a favorite theme. Taking them out of the drawers and re-folding them, putting them away and doing it over and over again. Nesting will provide interesting stories for years to come.”

I’m pretty sure my house will NEVER be this clean again!

8 Responses to “Nesting, Part 2”

  1. Matt Says:

    Yeap.

    And I did taxes.

    I really don’t know which of us I pity more.

  2. CameliaSinensis Says:

    Huh. This did not happen to me.


  3. CS: I’m sorry to hear that, actually. I think this might be the only time I am guaranteed to clean the heck out of my house.

  4. asianpixie Says:

    Sadly, I do some of those things on a regular basis. But I have noticed more nesting behaviors on my end and I am not the one who is even pregnant!


  5. AP: Rawk! I wish Matt had my urgency, but maybe it’s for the best — two frantically nesting people might be a recipe for Insane.

  6. fizz Says:

    Nesting makes up for the fact that you won’t have the energy to even look at the mop for the first few months after you give birth! If you run out of nesting stuff at your house, feel free to come on up to Boston and organize MY house! 😉 (We have the bonus of a toddler who will destroy anything as soon as you’ve cleaned it).


  7. Fizz, I certainly think it’s a great thing. I know my house will never be this clean again once Biskit arrives.

    Alas, I’m pretty sure I’m never going to reach the end of nesting things to do here, otherwise I’d totally help you out! 😉


Leave a Reply

