23 Weeks

February 5, 2009

My humps. My humps. My lovely belly humps.

23-weeks

My boobs are bigger than they have ever been in my life, yet they look puny next to my massive tum.

23-weeks-2

I told Matt the other day that I was planning on performing in March at a couple of low-key events for other dancers (not the general public) and he practically spit out his coffee. “PERFORMING? WHAT?! You’re gonna look like you’re shimmying a basketball!”

Can’t argue with that one, but it’ll be fun to dance with my little Biskit.

I could be imagining things, but I swear she’s already dancing along when I play my Arabic pop in the car in the mornings. Matt gnashes his teeth at my musical choices, but MWAHA — for now, her little ears are all mine!! Matt can introduce her to Modest Mouse after she’s born.

I’ve been thinking a lot about birth lately, and how I’d like for things to go (in an ideal world, obviously). One of the books I’m reading is by Ina May Gaskin, a famous midwife in Tennesee. Her theory is that birth is largely a function of the “sphincter rule.” The cervix is a sphincter, just like your bum, and stress/nerves can impact how relaxed your cervical sphincter will be. It makes perfect sense to me — after all, “poop shame” at work is a well known phenomenon! I’ve known people who will hold it for DAYS rather than poop someplace other than their home turf, where they feel safe.

Anyway, I started thinking about what would impact my own ability to relax into birth, and as silly as it sounds, my first thought was “I’d want Mike Jones with me.” Laugh if you want, but when my Dad was so sick last year, Mikey’s presence was so comforting – to me and to my entire family. Him being there really took the edge off the enormous stress we were all feeling. I know that there have been a number of studies documenting the soothing influence that dogs have on people, including the elderly, the sick and those going through painful rehabilitation from injuries, and I totally understand why.

So, I think that I may try to labor at home for as long as possible, with my sweet doggie by my side. Once things get serious, I will definitely hie my ass to the hospital, but I think having Mikey present during the early stages will be a big help to me.

Now if only I could come up with a way to sneak him into the hospital. πŸ™‚ Anybody have a good disguise for a 65 pound dog they could lend me? I’m thinking a porkpie hat and a trenchcoat could do the trick.

MAMA!

14 Responses to “23 Weeks”

  1. Matt Says:

    I would support her being forced to wear an abaya.


  2. That surprises me not at all.

    Lord. Our poor daughter.

  3. ChiaLynn Says:

    I LOVE watching pregnant bellydancers. Love it. If you get video, I wanna see.


  4. πŸ˜€ Will do, Chia Lynn!

  5. CameliaSinensis Says:

    Did you ask the hospital if you can bring the dog? Might as well ask–maybe they will allow it. Or, tell them you are blind and he is your seeing-eye dog. I was allowed to bring 10 people into my room. I did not know 10 people that I wanted to have see me give birth, ha, ha, know what I mean? TEN PEOPLE. I appreciate it, though.

    Or, are there any options for a–I don’t what they call them–birthing center instead of the hospital? Maybe they would allow doggies in. I wasn’t allowed the birth center option since I’m soooooo old.


  6. CS — Somehow, I doubt I could fool people into thinking that I’m blind. Nice try, though. πŸ˜‰ That’s pretty awesome that you were allowed 10 people!! I know a lot of hospitals that only allow one birthing partner with the woman at a time! To me, that seems like nowhere near as much support as I’ll need.

    I have no idea about birthing centers! Will have to check them out.


  7. Put him in scrubs and a surgical mask. Army Surgeon Sgt. Mike Jones, M.D. (Me Dog).

  8. Lisa Zahiya Says:

    Ina May Gaskin is my friend’s Mom – a lot of the Farm kids live here in Asheville. I also like preggers bellydancers – I’ve seen 8th/9th month performances


  9. LZ: For serial?? What a small world! πŸ™‚

  10. asianpixie Says:

    Try and labor at home as long as you can. If you are in the hospital too long, they will give you pitocin and then your contractions are unbearable. I have noticed that labor/delivery is a lot harder with the drug and hospitals do it to turn over the bed to the next patient. MKD and I are planning on hanging out at home as long as possible provided that both babies are in the vertex position.

  11. fizz Says:

    Gotta say it: homebirth. πŸ™‚

    That way Mike Jones can be with you the entire time!

    Re: sphincter control – my midwife had me moo through contractions, which was pretty freakin’ funny given how big I was at the time. But I think keeping my mouth open did help everything *else* open up too. Everyone else attending the birth (the second midwife, my mom, and my husband) mooed right along with me until I told them to shut up during transition.

  12. fizz Says:

    Oh, and I love the pics for this week – you look so stylish! πŸ™‚

  13. MKD Says:

    I think I would have opted for a homebirth if we weren’t in the high risk category…

    You should totally consider it. I’d hang out with you…as long as I’m not in labor as well.


  14. Believe me, Fizz, I’ve thought about it. I’m still thinking about it. We’ll see.

    (I’ve heard about the mooing thing! Cool to know that it works.)

    MKD: I’d love to have you in the hospital with me, assuming that you are not in labor yourself!!


Leave a Reply

