17 weeks, four days

December 29, 2008

Rolling over in bed at night has become a real PITA lately, requiring at least four steps (one elbow up – body up – switch elbows – lower body to bed — wiggle around to find comfortable position). Although I’m sure I’m not waking up every single time I switch sides, it sure feels like I am. Formerly a solid sleeper, I’m now a bit of a twighlight dozer, which isn’t really helping the whole “feeling rested” bit. There are still times where I get irritated and just flop on my back instead of my side — I know, I know, I shouldn’t be doing it, but I’m just dying to feel comfortable – but then I never can really fall asleep anyway because of the niggling part of my brain that keeps poking me awake with thoughts of “oMG you’re gonna kill the bayyyyyybeeee flip over flip over flip over!!!”

(The eyelid goes twitch twitch, twitch twitch.)

Only a few short weeks until we find out whether we’re having a girl or a boy — assuming that the Weetus cooperates and lays the right way.  January 13 is the day!  I’m so excited.  I still feel pretty damn sure that I’m having a girl, but our next door neighbor – a great-great grandmother and true matriarch – walked past me yesterday, eyeballed my stomach, and said, “You’re gonna bring home a boy.”   So, we shall see.

The more I feel the baby kick, the guiltier I feel when I eat crap.  I was proud of myself yesterday for eating tons of fresh fruit and all kinds of veggies for breakfast, lunch and dinner – but I guess that doesn’t really offset the two doughnuts I had on Saturday.  (I said I feel guilty – I didn’t say I always do something about it!)

Thank goodness today is a half day – I think I’m going to sign off, go home, and take a nap with my big ol fuzzy dog.

Happy New Year!

8 Responses to “17 weeks, four days”

  1. CameliaSinensis Says:

    I think it’s a girl, too!
    They say babies get the flavors of the food you eat in the amniotic fluid. I’m not saying this to make you feel guilty for eating doughnuts. Lord knows I ate plenty of “junk”. (Love it.) I’m just saying it because I think it is very interesting…and so when you are eating the fruits and veggies you are supposedly getting your baby to like them, too!
    Lawrence’s favorite foods are SPINACH and sweet potatoes! 😀

  2. Lucy Says:

    I think it was pretty well destined that any child of mine would love DONUTS, whether I ate any while gestating or not. 😉

  3. Matt Says:

    😐 I agree; maybe we should strap you down at night to minimize the midnight cartwheels?

  4. CameliaSinensis Says:

    I like DONUTS better than doughnuts.

  5. asianpixie Says:

    I constantly flip Molly off her back because she gets sick otherwise. Still not eating the best, but we take what we can keep down rather than what she should keep down.

    We are one week behind you with the sono! I am dying to know.

  6. Phil Says:

    Don’t find out!!! Hold off, I’m telling you, it will be worth it!!

    (I think it’s a werewolf)

  7. Jessica Says:

    I’m one week away from my due date and I still don’t know the gender. It’s fun not to know. You get a better variety of colours with your baby gifts, rather than all pink or all blue. Just means you have to pick a girl’s name and a boy’s name. I highly recommend keeping it a surprise; it just augments the joy of anticipation.

    Also – enjoy sleeping on your back while you still can – if you’re comfortable, it won’t affect the little one (they make their own room inside by pushing intestines out of the way). There will come a point where you’re physically unable because of the weight of the baby on your organs. Also – maximize the husband cuddling, because soon you’ll have a body pillow/belly prop wedged in the way of your spooning…


  8. Sorry, guys – we’re definitely going to find out if we can. 🙂 Jessica, I registered for everything in yellow, green and white – at the very least, I want the stuff we get to work for future babies as well, whether boy or girl, which is a good reason to get them in gender-neutral colors.

    By the way – how are you feeling? Has the infamous eight/nine month nesting craze kicked in yet? 🙂 I’m looking forward to it – I figure I will get a LOT done!


Leave a Reply

