Ow ow ow ow ow ow. OW.

December 16, 2008

Although I remain as lazy as a slug, my Yewt has decided to embark on a strenuous exercise program of cramping, charlie-horsing, contracting and and generally growing like hell.   It all started four days ago, when I started feeling this low, throbbing ache deep in my abdomen.  Gradually, the pains became more frequent and intense, to the point where I woke up multiple times last night, mid-spasm.   At six a.m. this morning, I decided it was time to call the doctor.

Matt and I went in today at 1 p.m. (our first anniversary!  Woot!).  The doctor felt my cervix (high, tight, totally fine) and then waved the doppler around.  “I’m going to look for the heartbeat with this, but it’s still very early to find it via doppler.  So don’t worry if I have to check around for a bit before finding it.”  Naturally, the moment he placed it against my abdomen, the sweet sweet sound of THUMPATHUMPATHUMPATHUMPA filled the air.  Strong, steady, healthy heartbeat.

He didn’t really give us any answers as to why I’m having the pains – it was pretty much a shrug and “I guess everything’s fine” – but my money is either on early Braxton Hicks or my growing uterus breaking through scar tissue caused by my four surgeries for endometriosis (or both).  The Bebe was kind enough to give me a nice quick THUMP’d kick today, which did help reassure me that everything is okay.

Just hang in there tight, wee Babe — no escaping early for you!

Speaking of which, I am an auntie again!  My sister’s water broke early on Friday morning and had her first son just a few hours later.   She was only 34 weeks along, but baby Jack is big (relatively speaking), healthy and already nursing up a storm.  I got to hold him on Saturday, and when I did, I told him “Don’t you be giving your little cousin any ideas, mister!  She’s* gotta stay put for a long time yet.”
Ciao!

MAMA

*  No, we don’t know the sex yet.  I just have a feeling that this is a girl.

One Response to “Ow ow ow ow ow ow. OW.”

  1. asianpixie Says:

    Yewt?

    Sorry about the pains…maybe ligament pains?


Leave a Reply

