Zofran

November 4, 2008

(Note to AP — just stop reading now. Skip this post entirely.)

.

.

.

.

.

Maybe I’m a wuss, but I can’t hack the nausea anymore. I need to be able to work and to function, and I can’t do either if I’m literally carrying a puke bucket around with me everywhere I go because I could barf at any time, with no notice. After I got to work yesterday (puke bucket in hand, just in case I had to vomit between my car and my desk), all I could do was pace back and forth for four hours, sucking on peppermints and preggie pops, and intermittently hover over my puke bucket. I couldn’t read, I couldn’t type, I couldn’t talk to people – I couldn’t do anything other than focus how godawful I felt and whether I was going to puke THIS SECOND or maybe the second after that.

I called my sister, the Queen of Hyperemesis Gravatarium, at 11 a.m., because I was out of my wits with misery. “Abbey, I can’t do this!! I don’t know what to do! I can’t handle feeling this awful!” She listened, then said, “Just call your doctor. Now. Don’t wait until you’re dehydrated or missing days of work – call NOW.”

So I did.

The doc prescribed Zofran, I waddled over to the CVS and hovered over the pharmacist’s shoulder until he filled it, and ……. oh my God. Within a HALF HOUR, I had total relief. No nausea. No room spinning around me. No gagging, no dry heaving, no vomiting. I felt like a new woman.

I have mixed feelings about taking the medicine, for sure. It’s a Class B drug (so it’s safer than some of the medicine I’m still taking for depression, but I had a long period of time to weigh all the risks and benefits of staying on those before making a decision to do so), but it’s still a drug. If I could function, even marginally, without it, I would. But I can’t.

As I write this, I’ve just taken my second dose (at 7:30 a.m.). I was going to hold off on taking it today until I knew that today would be just as bad as yesterday and the day before and the day before, and I got my proof within 15 minutes of waking up when I started gagging again.

Yeah, I needed this.

7 Responses to “Zofran”

  1. sheburtsy Says:

    oh honey! I’m glad you have something to help you function and I’m sorry you need it. I need to send you some more mommy to be Popsicles somehow.

  2. CameliaSinensis Says:

    Hopefully it will go away soon by itself…

  3. sparkles anon! Says:

    Thanks, Sheburtsie.

    CS, me too. I really, really do. Did you happen to see the story in the Post’s Health Section today on the woman with hyperemesis gravatarium? AWFUL.

  4. CameliaSinensis Says:

    No, but I’ll look for it now.

  5. Phil Says:

    I’ve always wondered how women “forget” all this stuff they go through to have a baby, wanting another one.

    My own wife stated quite plainly “I never want to go through this again,” that is, until a few years after the fact. Now it’s as if none of it ever happened….

    Hope you feel better – hooray drugs!


  6. Phil, all I can reckon is that Mother Nature has SERIOUSLY figured out how to hustle pregnant ladies. My own sister, who was the sickest, most miserable pregnant woman I’ve ever seen in my life, swears that she’d not only do it all over again, but she’d have TWINS all over again! I think she’s nuts, even though her boys are pretty cool. 🙂

  7. asianpixie Says:

    LOL…I couldn’t help myself.

    Zofran is the most wonderful creation, btw. I took it when I had OHSS and I felt so fantastic. I love that stuff and it’s my wonder drug.


Leave a Reply

