October 14, 2008

I feel so very, very pregnant lately. Even if you disregard the fatigue, the sore, puffy feet, the need to take a 15-minute break after doing 30 seconds of chores, the shortness of breath, the inability to sleep soundly (Matt has informed me that I have stopped snoring but now am doing this weird “treading water” thing in my sleep), the heartburn, the acidy taste at the back of my mouth, the thirst, the nausea, the painful sensitivity to smells, the sunburnt feel of my nipples, and the turbulent rollercoaster of my emotions, you are STILL left with one of the hallmarks of pregnancy: cravings.

My cravings have ranged – well, not all that far and wide in the last 72 hours:

– popsicles (AWESOME for alleviating nausea)

– White rice mixed with cheddar cheese and sour cream

– Linguini with white clam sauce

– chocolate chip cookies

– Sauteed spinach with garlic and pine nuts (still haven’t satisfied that one)

– Saltines with cheese

– cheesecheesecheesecheesecheese

– sour cream

– cottage cheese with mandarin oranges

– peanut butter toast with jam

– Risotto with lobster

So, I would say that the Bebe wants calcium, fat and starch. Also, chocolate. Smart Bebe.

I had my blood taken on Friday to establish a baseline HCG level. I got a call today — at 6 weeks, 1 day, my HCG was 18,824.ย  I think that’s pretty good, although the internet is of no help.ย  I am offering up a vein again tomorrow to have a second level taken. Fingers crossed that this one will show my levels continuing to rise as they should, but considering how ponderously pregnant I already feel, I’m pretty hopeful that they will check out.

Thursday is Matt’s 29th birthday, and my second ultrasound. I will be exactly seven weeks that day; let’s hope that the Bebe and I can give Matt a good birthday present. ๐Ÿ˜€

6 Responses to “”

  1. MKD Says:

    I’d say you are having some cravings! Eat that cheese!

  2. Lucy Says:

    The worst is when something simultaneously seems appealing and repulsive at the same time. :/

  3. Lucy Says:

    Err. And redundant I am, I am.

  4. Matt Says:

    She’s referring to me with that comment.

  5. asianpixie Says:

    Definitely hit the Easy Cheese. It was made for pregnant women.

    Oh and the HCG level is really good and high! After 8-11 weeks, it will decline and level off.

  6. sparkles anon! Says:

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHA

    I love you, darling. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    AP – I should have called you on Monday when I got my HCG levels back! That’s the sort of YAYAYAYAYIT’S GOOD comment I need to hear. ๐Ÿ˜‰


Leave a Reply

